The Ocean at the End of the Lane Prod Shot

The Ocean at the End of the Lane

UK Tour (10 venues)
Tue 24 Jan - Sat 16 Sep 2023
  Tickets available from £13.00 to £64.00
subject to a transaction fee of up to £3.80
Play
2 hours 35 minutes
incl. interval

Select Your Venue

Woking

New Victoria Theatre, Woking
Tue 24 Jan - Sat 28 Jan 2023

Sunderland

Sunderland Empire
Tue 28 Feb - Sat 4 Mar 2023

Wimbledon

New Wimbledon Theatre
Tue 11 Apr - Sat 15 Apr 2023

Liverpool

Liverpool Empire
Tue 2 May - Sat 6 May 2023

Birmingham

The Alexandra, Birmingham
Tue 23 May - Sat 27 May 2023

Oxford

New Theatre Oxford
Tue 20 Jun - Sat 24 Jun 2023

Milton Keynes

Milton Keynes Theatre
Tue 27 Jun - Sat 1 Jul 2023

Bristol

Bristol Hippodrome Theatre
Tue 15 Aug - Sat 19 Aug 2023

Glasgow

King's Theatre, Glasgow
Tue 29 Aug - Sat 2 Sep 2023

Stoke

Regent Theatre, Stoke-on-Trent
Tue 12 Sep - Sat 16 Sep 2023
From the imagination of Neil Gaiman, best-selling author of Coraline, Good Omens and The Sandman, comes the National Theatre’s major new stage adaptation of The Ocean at the End of the Lane, direct from its acclaimed run in the West End.

UK tour (10 venues)

Tue 24 Jan - Sat 16 Sep 2023
For group bookings of 10 or more:

Why go and see it?

From an international best-selling fantasy novel to an award-winning play, Neil Gaiman’s magical world comes to life in this spectacular new stage adaptation.

This five-star spectacular from the producers of War Horse and The Curious Incident of the Dog in the Night-Time is a thrilling adventure of fantasy, myth and friendship, taking audiences on an epic journey to a childhood once forgotten and the darkness that lurks at the very edge of it.

Production shot

Returning to his childhood home, a man finds himself standing beside the pond of the old Sussex farmhouse where he used to play. He's transported to his 12th birthday when his remarkable friend Lettie claimed it wasn't a pond, but an ocean – a place where everything is possible...

Plunged into a magical world, their survival depends on their ability to reckon with ancient forces that threaten to destroy everything around them. 

This production contains the following effects; high intensity lighting and strobe, haze and smoke, pyrotechnics, loud sound and blackouts. 

This production explores adult themes that some people may find distressing or frightening. This includes the non-graphic depiction of the aftermath of a suicide early on and four occurrences where suicide is discussed in the play. There is also infrequent mention of death, a depiction of parental abuse, and one depiction of a death. 

If you’d like to find out more before you book, please contact our Box Office.

UK Tour (10 venues)

Tue 24 Jan - Sat 16 Sep 2023
For group bookings of 10 or more: