The buildings that comprise the Grand Opera House York were not originally intended to be a theatre. The tall section was built as York’s Corn Exchange in 1868 and was meant to be used as a concert hall from time to time. The auditorium was originally a warehouse opening onto Kings Street. In 1902 after the Corn Exchange failed, the buildings were converted into the Grand Opera House by William Peacock. The theatre opened on January 20th 1902 with Little Red Riding Hood starring Florrie Ford.... Read more >>
Grand Opera House Visual Story: a visual resource to help prepare visitors for a new experience and to help them become familiar with new surroundings and what to expect. Please contact your access champion at the theatre here.
There is disabled access to the stalls level auditorium and bar via Kings Street. We also have allocated spaces for wheelchairs chairs on the end of rows G, H, M, N and R. These will need to be requested at the time of booking.
A Sennheiser Infra Red Hearing System is available for people with hearing impairments. Please collect a headset from Front of House staff. The system may not be compatible with all types of hearing aids.
Guide, hearing and other working dogs are welcome in all parts of the theatre.
We have a disabled toilet in the stalls, located by the disabled access point.