Edinburgh Playhouse

Firmly established in the cultural landscape of Edinburgh and Scotland, the Edinburgh Playhouse is the UK’s largest all seated theatre and plays host to some of the biggest names in live music, comedy and musical theatre.

Edinburgh Playhouse exclusives
Fri 25 Oct -Fri 20 Dec 2019

Community Choir Term 20

Until Sat 26 Oct 2019

The King and I

Set in 1860s Bangkok, the musical tells the story of the unconventional and tempestuous relationship that develops between the King of Siam and Anna, a British schoolteacher whom the modernist King, in an imperialistic world, brings to Siam to teach his many wives and children.
Sun 27 Oct 2019

The Illegal Eagles

Following continued public demand the World’s Official No.1 tribute to the legendary rock band return in 2019!
Mon 28 Oct - Sat 2 Nov 2019

The Rocky Horror Show

The Rocky Horror Show is the story of two squeaky clean college kids – Brad and his fiancée Janet. When by a twist of fate, their car breaks down outside a creepy mansion whilst on their way to visit their former college professor, they meet the charismatic Dr Frank n Furter.
Mon 4 Nov 2019

A Celebration of Paul Simon's Graceland Live

With iconic tracks such as You Can Call Me Al and Diamonds On The Soles Of Her Shoes this concert is not one to miss!
Tue 5 Nov - Sat 9 Nov 2019

Priscilla Queen Of The Desert The Musical

The iconic musical Priscilla Queen of the Desert is touring the UK! With more glitter than ever before, this smash-hit show features a dazzling array of stunning costumes, fabulous feathers and a non-stop parade of dance-floor classics.
Tue 12 Nov - Sat 16 Nov 2019

9 to 5 The Musical

Tumble outta’ bed and stumble to Dolly Parton’s rip-roaring musical - starring Louise Redknapp and Amber Davies!
Sun 17 Nov 2019

The Elvis Tribute Artist World Tour Featuring Shawn Klush & Dean Z

The greatest Elvis show in the world… just got even better! Direct from the USA, Shawn Klush & Dean Z have now been joined by fellow US Elvis Tribute Artist Cody Ray Slaughter, making this an all-American spectacular not to be missed by any Elvis fan across the globe.
Mon 18 Nov 2019

Jack Whitehall

Award-winning comedian, actor and writer Jack Whitehall has announced his biggest UK and Ireland arena tour ever for 2019 with brand new show, JACK WHITEHALL: STOOD UP.
Thu 21 Nov - Fri 22 Nov 2019

Romesh Ranganathan - The Cynic’s Mixtape

Romesh Ranganathan is back with a brand-new show, The Cynic's Mixtape, and it’s his most brutally honest show yet.
Tue 19 Nov - Sat 23 Nov 2019

Tim Minchin - Back

Back is billed as Old Songs, New Songs, F*** You Songs, hinting at a set list of material from all corners of Minchin’s eclectic – and often iconoclastic – repertoire.
Thu 5 Dec 2019 - Sun 29 Mar 2020

Disney's The Lion King

Set against the majesty of the Serengeti Plains and to the evocative rhythms of Africa, Disney's multi award-winning musical is a unique theatrical experience that you will remember forever.
Fri 24 Apr - Sun 26 Apr 2020

Riverdance - The New 25th Anniversary Show

The 25th Anniversary show catapults Riverdance into the 21st century and will completely immerse you in the extraordinary and elemental power of its music and dance.
Mon 27 Apr 2020

Joe Bonamassa

Celebrated blues-rock guitarist and singer-songwriter <strong>Joe Bonamassa</strong> will return to the UK in April 2020 to perform at <strong>Edinburgh Playhouse</strong>
Tue 28 Apr 2020

Dita Von Teese: Glamonatrix

The ever-dazzling International Queen of Burlesque, Dita Von Teese, is set to return to Australia, New Zealand and Europe with the most lavish touring burlesque show in history with her all-new revue, DITA VON TEESE: GLAMONATRIX.
Fri 1 May 2020

A Country Night in Nashville

A Country Night In Nashville recreates the scene of a buzzing Honky Tonk in downtown Nashville, perfectly capturing the energy and atmosphere of an evening in the home of Country Music.
Tue 5 May - Sat 9 May 2020

Beautiful - The Carole King Musical

Long before she was Carole King, the chart-topping music legend, she was an ordinary girl with an extraordinary talent.
Sun 10 May 2020

Whitney - Queen of the Night

Whitney’s one true legacy was her music which touched most of us at some time in our lives. Share her life and get ready for the greatest love of all in Queen of the Night!
Sat 23 May 2020

Menopause The Musical 2

In our brand-new show, Cruising Through Menopause, the hysterical sequel to the smash-hit show Menopause The Musical®, we fast forward five years to catch up with the same four ladies as they set off on the high seas for tales of their lives, loves and losses.
Tue 26 May - Sat 30 May 2020

Once

Based on a cult 2006 Irish indie feature, originally shot on a micro-budget of just $160,000, it tells the uplifting yet yearning story of a part-time Dublin guitarist busker (who works by day in his dad's Hoover repair shop) who falls unexpectedly in love with a young Czech immigrant fellow musician. As we follow their relationship across five short days, big changes happen to both of them in little ways.
Sun 31 May 2020

Josh Widdicombe - Bit Much...

'One of the most bankable talents in UK comedy' - Guardian Guide
Wed 3 Jun - Thu 4 Jun 2020

Strictly Come Dancing The Professionals

Strictly Come Dancing - The Professionals is back and returns to venues across the country from May 2019 for a 35 date tour!
Fri 5 Jun 2020

Jane McDonald

Jane McDonald is back in 2020 with her brand new Let the Light In tour.
Tue 7 Jul - Sat 11 Jul 2020

Heathers The Musical

Following two smash hit record breaking London West End seasons, Heathers The Musical embarks on its first national tour.
Thu 10 Sep - Sat 12 Sep 2020

Billionaire Boy

From the award-winning West End producers of Gangsta Granny and Horrible Histories comes this amazing new production of David Walliams' best-selling story!
Mon 12 Oct - Sat 17 Oct 2020

The Commitments

The Commitments is a fantastically feel good celebration of soul. Returning to tour the UK and Ireland 5 years after a phenomenally successful, record breaking run in London’s West End and subsequent sell-out tour. The Commitments is based on the BAFTA award-winning film classic.